It Ain’t Easy Bein’ Green: “Manufactured Landscapes”

Edward Burtynsky’s photos offer mute testimony to the manner in which mankind’s mania for manufacturing is changing the face of our planet.

In film maker Jennifer Baichwal’s award-winning documentary 

Burtynsky explains why he exhibits his work in uptown galleries rather than a more politicized venue.

” If I said ‘Isn’t this a terrible thing we are doing to our planet’ then people will either agree or disagree. By not saying what you should see that may allow them to look at something they never looked at and to see their world a little differently.”

“I think that many people today sit in that uncomfortable spot where we don’t necessarily want to give up what we have but we realize that what we are doing is creating problems that run deep. It’s not a simple right or wrong. It needs a whole new way of thinking.”

Jennifer Baichwal and Edward Burtynsky on location in China for “Manufactured Landscapes”

Having gone to a number of environmentally oriented events in the past year I can’t help but wonder whether ecoactivists (however well meaning they may be in their intentions) are often ‘preaching to the choir’.

Burtynsky seems to be advocating a whole new approach to educating the general public as to environment issues and creating innovative new solutions to the problems facing our planet.

What do you think?

Author: rixbitz

media gadfly

3 thoughts on “It Ain’t Easy Bein’ Green: “Manufactured Landscapes””

  1. I think: great post! Also, I like that you note that perhaps many are preaching to the choir. I think this can be said about a lot of different messages people try to spread. If the same experts gather at the same functions in a different venue all the time, and the same enthusiastic people are trying to help, then the message never gets spread outside of it’s own world anyways. Instead, you’re stuck in a cyclical motion of the same problems getting many different solutions and no one new to help implement or advocate.

    I think I shall go and look for this documentary. It sounds very interesting.

    1. Thanks once again for your input, Ms. K And may I say that, once again, you have demonstrated both an independent spirit and an intellectual maturity that is both prized and appreciated by this writer. Cheers!

  2. Hey, I got your email but I wasn’t able to respond. So I know this isn’t really the place but I’m responding to your question on subscribing.
    You’re on my list of followers so you should be good for me to pop up on your reader feed! I just now (because of your lovely email) added a follow button on my sidebar. So below the page names it says:
    FOLLOW BLOG VIA EMAIL
    Click to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.
    Join 34 other followers

    Just click on the FOLLOW button on the page I’m pretty sure and you’ll get lots of annoying emails when I update:)
    Don’t feel sheepish! Ask anything, anytime. I love your blog and read all your posts. Hope that helped!

    Sara Katherine

Leave a Reply

