Back When My Teeth Were Longer … A Short Short Story (Not Based on Actual Events)

 I was walking along the beach around nightfall when I first met her.

 She had fiery red hair, pale skin and white teeth that glinted oddly in the moonlight. In fact, she looked just like the character Deborah Ann Woll plays in that TV show, what’s the name again? Oh yeah, True Blood.

 “You’re just about the most gorgeous creature I’ve seen in this neck of the woods,” I panted.

 “I’m hungry.” she said  “I haven’t had a bite all day.”

 She shot me a look that could stop traffic at rush hour.

 So I bit her.

 Immediately I felt kinda stoned, my vision started to blur and I swear the moon started to fall out of the sky.

 I let out a howl and headed for the nearest beachside bar. Suddenly I felt powerfully thirsty.

 I walked into the bar and there was a young woman who looked just like Rutina Wesley.  Y’know, Tara. 

 Funny. I can remember her character’s name but I couldn’t  think  of the show.  

 “You’re just my type,” I said woozily. “Blood type, that is.” And sunk my teeth into her neck.

 I couldn’t remember a whole lot after that … there was the sound of sirens  … and someone running and screaming  (I think it was me)

 Anyway, these days, I sit in a specially constructed cage. Don’t get me wrong. It is roomy enough and there is a shower and bathroom in back, cable TV and stuff to write on. There’s also a weird picture on the wall. I don’t know how to describe it but it seems to have something to do with the moon. Go figure.

 Once a day I get a visit from a young woman in a white smock. She says she is studying supernatural phenomena. And then she shoots me with a tranquilizer dart.

 My vision starts to blur and I think that I have finally decided what that picture is about when ……………………………….

Leave a Reply

