True Confessions; Life as a Pirate Radio DJ (Part 2)

At one point in my duties as a disc jockey/broadcaster/host/producer/whatever I was in charge of an early morning (midnight – 3am) shift called “The Soft Music Show”. As the title indicates the tracks selected were designed to help the average Israeli/kibbutz volunteer fall asleep or at least relax after the pressures of the day. And, as you can guess, the average Israeli faced a number of pressures during the average day (although, in all fairness, there was not a single bomb blast, shooting or other act of violence during my six month stay in Israel – three months on a kibbutz near Tel Aviv and three months employed by the Voice of Peace.)

Our station breaks included the phrase "From somewhere in the Mediterranean ....' (even though we could see the lights of Tel Aviv twinkling from our location anchored in international waters.)
Our station breaks included the phrase “From somewhere in the Mediterranean ….’ (even though we could see the lights of Tel Aviv twinkling from our location anchored in international waters.)

One morning while working “The Soft Music Show” I heard a thump on the outside of the hull. I assumed it was an especially vigorous wave and went on listening to Chet Baker crooning “She Was Too Good To Me”. Then I heard another thump. I cued up “Angel Eyes” by Jack Jones (we still had turntables back in those days.) Then there was another thump (more insistent this time.)

I wearily climbed the ladder that snaked out of the hold where the control room was located and set foot on the deck. A few feet away I saw the outlines of another craft silhouetted against the night sky. There seemed to be guns of some sort mounted above the cabin or maybe I just had an overactive imagination. However, I didn’t imagine figures dancing and waving. Suddenly an object that looked like a grenade sailed across from the other ship. I hit the deck amid sounds of laughter wafting on the breeze.

I gingerly picked myself up and walked over to the greenish colored object. It turned out to be an avocado with a note stuck in it which read, in scrawled English: “Please play ‘Sailing’ by Rod Stewart
and ‘She Came In Through the Bathroom Window.’ by Joe Cocker. ”

The latter tune didn’t exactly fit the format but I was not about to argue. Later, a veteran VOP DJ told me that since The Voice of Peace did not have phone service this was the manner in which some of the listeners delivered requests. That same ship got my attention about a week later (on the same shift) and threw me a bottle of wine. I caught it this time (and drank most of it).

To Be Continued

Author: rixbitz

media gadfly

1 thought on “True Confessions; Life as a Pirate Radio DJ (Part 2)”

  1. did time as the cook on there ; mad dutch captain ,75 if a day, and his phillipino engineer and the first female dj ,interesting times.

Leave a Reply

